To Tell the Christmas Truth

Look, I’m not saying I’m perfect. Some days my daughter gets organic vegetables for lunch after we’ve built block towers and learned a bit more about letters and numbers, and some days she gets a hot dog after watching cartoons. I get it. Here’s an example of what I don’t get:

Doing it wrong
Because we have to focus on what’s important

I’m going to ignore the discussion on the ethics of introducing Santa to children. Every parent has to make that decision. I’m also going to ignore the Elf on the Shelf. What I have a hard time ignoring is a child asking their parent to be honest and the parent not only choosing to lie, but further promising negative punishment for not believing the lie. This is inherently wrong to me, but at least 37 people disagree. None of the comments reflect my opinion, either, though the original poster added this:

ONE YEAR MORE!
Because we know Christmas is all about enjoyment for the parents

I honestly feel bad for kids in this situation. They have to ask the people who have been providing literally every basic need as well as love, guidance, and support to them since they’ve existed if this one thing they’ve been telling them for years isn’t true. They’re asking for resolution to the conflict between fact their peers have discovered and the fiction they’ve been presented with from the people who gave them the fiction. And what I really want to decry here isn’t the cultural story we tell to our children. It’s the digging in. It’s the “You’d better believe it” mentality, knowing full well it isn’t true, solely to further the enjoyment of the parent, not of the child. It’s one of the most selfish things I can imagine a parent doing on Christmas.

 

Thanks for reading.

One thought on “To Tell the Christmas Truth

  1. This is why the moment she asks, we tell her the truth. I can’t imagine doing that to her. I love the magic of Christmas as much as anyone, and I can’t wait to make more special memories with her, but once she starts questioning, all bets are off and we need to be honest.

    (For those that don’t know, ‘her’ is the same daughter Thomas referenced above. She’s mine too.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

