Children’s TV

What I remember from growing up and watching TV was mostly being entertained. If there were morals, I didn’t notice, or I didn’t notice I noticed. Obviously, as an adult, it’s easy to pick up on the themes in the shows my kid watches. I expected that.

What I didn’t really expect was the morals being taught to parents as well. For every child learning to share, there’s an adult being patient, caring, and forgiving who’s treating the child as much like an adult as they can. This episode of Daniel Tiger is a prime example. No yelling. No threats. No immediate punishments. A little song, a concession of choosing one more thing to do, and they keep on moving.

That’s tough in reality. The presentation is almost comical in how easily everything works out for them. I don’t believe it’s as far-fetched as it seems, though. It uses the idea that kids are GREAT at learning. Something that happens once is how it happens from here on out for kids. Taking a little bit of extra time once establishes the rule for the kid of “I can have a bit more fun, but the we have to go.” The worst thing that happens for the parent is that they might have to sing a silly song in front of other people.

The message to the parents, no matter what the situation, is that being caring and patient creates a great positive feedback loop, and it doesn’t make you a doormat. Adults that take the time to create an environment where the kids can learn to be better behaved make it easier on themselves later and that allows them to be more accommodating, which I guess shouldn’t be all that surprising. Stable environments help kids be stable. I like this message because it’s another tool to help me avoid having to use the philosophy of “Might makes right” in my household.

Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Children’s TV

  1. As the other parent in your household, I agree with the supposition that helping children learn to make choices and be accommodating avoids the ‘might makes right’ concept. Our daughter is a person just like we are–she’s just a small one. She’s allowed to have ideas and opinions and desires, and we should never snuff those out because we’re bigger than she is. Structure and schedules are one thing–demands that ignore the child’s wishes in favor of ‘my way or the highway’ is something else entirely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

