Don’t Like This Post

Recently, a Wired writer took on the feed-ruining task of liking every single post that came through his Facebook feed for two days. The results were mostly unsurprising, but the writing made it absolutely enjoyable to read, especially as things got much worse for him. Conversely, a writer for Medium chose not to like anything for two weeks and ended up with a more ideal timeline – more of his friends just being human.

The stories both reinforce my current philosophy with social media – like and comment on original material. Cute kids, dieting decisions, perfect picturesque panoramas, and triumphs at triathlons. I try my best to show care for my friends’ concerns and to give feedback when I think it’s needed. There are some days I wish that’s all there was to it.

But, I get that people want to share the interesting stories and videos they find, mostly because I like sharing those things, too. I also like tacking on my $.02 and having a discussion about it. Even though it has gotten me in hot water before, I still work under the assumption that, if you put something out there for everyone to see, you’re also putting it out there for everyone to react. But, that’s a bit off topic.

What I’m really trying to say is that if what the first author’s feed turned into sounds like what your feed is now, perhaps you should reconsider what you’re liking and clicking on. For me, I’m interested to see what happens when I comment on instead of liking links.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

